Sligo Leitrim U14 Girls through to Subway Bowl final   06/03/2023

Sligo-Leitrim u14 Girls played their Semi-Final of the Interleague Bowl competition today at McSharry Park v NECSL (North Eastern Counties).
A tight affair for the opening 20 minutes or so, Sligo-Leitrim on the back foot and defending intensively for some of this period - ending in a 1-0 lead for the visitors when they were first to a header from a corner and hit the net on 21 minutes.
The home side upped their intensity then and were level just 4 minutes later - Orla Ryan in the midfield engine room winning ball for Natasha Kelly to open up the defense with a well measured thru-ball for Amy O'Donohoe, who controlled and finished nicely.
NEC took the lead again on 28 minutes, and Sligo-Leitrim levelled again on 34 minutes, Natasha this time finishing well on a Grace Devaney ball over the top.
A more than hectic 4-goal 15-minute spell, leaving it 2-2 at the break.
Amber Gray-Harrigan put the home side in front for the first time with 15 minutes gone in the second period, capitalising on a Tara Flynn thru-ball and finishing superbly to reward a game-changing performance off the bench from Amber.
NEC were not to be beaten easily though - and levelled again 3-3 just 3 minutes later.
Amy O'Donohoe got her 2nd, and Sligo-leitrim's winner, with about 15 minutes left on the clock - forcing over when Ellen Gilmartin's corner led to a scramble in the box. The game stayed at 4-3 to the home side despite further great play from both sides. NECSL will rightly be disappointed in the outcome - a fiercely fought semi-final and a real treat for the watching crowd (and a nail-biter for the coaches!).
Sligo-Leitrim will now face Wexford in the Bowl Final in 3 weeks time - Wexford having beaten Longford today in a penalty shootout following their 0-0 draw in the other semi.
Sligo-Leitrim: Katie Gilligan (Arrow Harps), Ava Gerrity (Ballisodare Utd), Tara Howard, Amelie Hannon (Ballymote Celtic), Ellen Gilmartin, EmilyMae Mullarkey (Benbulben FC), Amy O'Donohoe (Boyle Celtic), Tara Flynn, Shannon Moran (Calry Bohs), Eibhlin Guckian, Orla Ryan, Mona Lowe (Carrick Town), Emer McGuinn, Ellie Keenan (Coolaney Utd), Natasha Kelly (Dromahair FC), Grace Devaney (Captain) (Manor Rangers), Amber Gray Harrigan (Strand Celtic), Grainne O'Hara, Ceola Vogt (Yeats

Upcoming Events